FOREVER YOUNG

Published : 2018-02-08 16:35:58 - Categories : Expos

from February 16 to March 17 2018

Exhibition by Philippe Fretz FOREVER YOUNG

Opening on Friday February 16th from 5 pm to 7 pm

Good news from elementary particles

Young's slits refer to an experiment in physics, first performed by Thomas Young in 1801, of passing photons through two small holes in an opaque plan. On a screen disposed opposite, there is then a pattern of interference fringes specific to the superposition of waves.

The experiment highlights the dual nature - particle/wave - of light. It was later refined by quantum physics. Indeed, the same patterns of interference are observed when one makes the experiment by passing electrons of any material through a similar device, and this even if they are projected one by one. The matter, in its fundamental structure, resists the fragmentation and representation of a modelizable world peculiar to scientific concepts and tools.  

In other words, reality is composed of a fabric of relationships that surpasses in beauty and complexity our effort to measure it. The repercussions of such a conclusion are so beautiful that I welcome this experience as good news of elementary particles.

FOREVER YOUNG

Add a comment

 (with http://)

PayPal

FOREVER YOUNG

Publié le : 2018-02-08 16:35:58 - Catégories : Expos

du 16 février au 17 mars 2018

Exposition de Philippe Fretz FOREVER YOUNG

Vernissage le vendredi 16 fevrier de 17h à 19h

Bonne nouvelle des particules élémentaires

Les fentes de Young désignent une expérience en physique, réalisée pour la première fois par Thomas Young en 1801, consistant à faire passer des photons par deux petits trous percés dans un plan opaque. Sur un écran disposé en face, on observe alors un motif de franges d’interférences propres à la superposition d’ondes. 

L’expérience met en évidence la double nature – particule/onde – de la lumière. Elle fut par la suite affinée par la physique quantique. On observe en effet les mêmes motifs d’interférence lorsqu’on fait l’expérience en faisant passer des éléctrons de n’importe quelle matière à travers un dispositif similaire, et ceci même si on les projette un à un. La matière, dans sa structure fondamentale résiste donc à la fragmentation et à la représentation d’un monde modélisable propre aux concepts et aux outils scientifiques. 

Autrement dit, la réalité est composée d’un tissu de relations qui surpasse en beauté et en complexité notre effort à la mesurer. Les répercussions d’une telle conclusion sont si belles que j’accueille cette expérience comme bonne nouvelle des particules élémentaires. 

FOREVER YOUNG

Ajouter un commentaire

 (avec http://)

PayPal